2011 State Coach of the Year Award recipients

Baseball Bill McElreath- St. Clair
Boys Basketball George Ward-Detroit Southeastern
Girls Basketball Dorene/Doug Ingalls- St. Ignace
Boys Bowling Tom Stockton-Sterling Hts. Stevenson
Girls Bowling Ann Roznowski- Bay City John Glenn
Competitive Cheer Nancy de Avila- Lake Orion
Boys Cross Country Tony Magni- Detroit Catholic Central
Girls Cross Country Mike Smith- Saline
Football Mike Holmes- Muskegon Catholic Central
Boys Golf Dave Koenigsknecht- DeWitt
Girls Golf Leon Braisted III- Birmingham Seaholm
Gymnastics Courtney Law- Grosse Pointe United
Boys Lacrosse Dave Wilson- Detroit Country Day
Skiing John Lambert- Grand Blanc
Softball Al Roberts- Clinton
Boys Swimming & Diving Michael McHugh- Dexter
Girls Swimming & Diving Todd Brunley- Saline
Boys Tennis Jim Niebling- Portland
Girls Tennis Margaret Ruemenapp-Petoskey
Boys Track & Field Mike Jurasek- Albion
Girls Track & Field Tony Mifsud- Dearborn Divine Child
Volleyball Diane Tuller- Monroe St. Mary's Catholic Central
Wrestling George Hamblin/Brandon Day-Richmond


2011 National Coach of the Year Award recipients

Mike Jolly --- Warren DeLaSalle Collegiate School

Mike has been coaching for over 50 years and many of those were as a head lacrosse coach.  He has been the assistant for the past 11 years, but his role was one of partnership with the head coach.  The head coach is heavily involved in engineering management with General Motors so Mike does many of the administrative things that a head coach normally does.  Mike served as the point person for the lacrosse program in the school in addition to running the JV program.  Mike has been very involved with the MHSCA having served as their president in 1998.  His organization membership is extensive with not only the MHSCA, but the Michigan HS Lacrosse Coaches Association, US Lacrosse Association, FCA, and several others.  He is a member of the MHSCA Hall of Fame, and the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

                                              Mike Jolly


Arthur Link --- West Bloomfield High School

Art was the head boys’ golf coach at West Bloomfield for 40 years compiling 3265 wins and 1637 losses with 5 regional titles, one state runner-up finish and two state championships.  He has received Service Awards from the Optimist Club of West Bloomfield, Michigan Golf Coaches, and the Oakland County Athletic Directors.  He was twice named State COTY by the Golf Coaches and once by the MHSCA.  He was one of the founders and 1st President of the Michigan Interscholastic Golf Coaches Association.  He was inducted into their HOF in 1993 and the MHSCA HOF in 2008.  He was a NHSACA Finalist previously in 2004.  Art served as the National Chairman for Golf with NHSACA for several years in the early 80’s and served as Golf director for the Oakland County Meet many times and the MHSAA regional and/or district meets. He was the developer of the Junior Golf Tour and National Tour for same as well as serving on the Jr. Golf committee of the Golf Association of Michigan.

Copyright © 2015 - MHSCA

This site is maintained by: Jim Shirey